The Unexpected Pleasure of a 1970s Pattern

I haven’t started sewing yet.  I am, however quite pleased with a pattern I found today.  It cost a whopping thirty-one cents. Actually, the clerk rounded the price down to thirty cents because I paid cash (haha) and I live in Canada – the land of no more pennies.  Paying so little for a vintage pattern (one I’m really happy about!) makes it difficult for me to justify paying the prices I see on Etsy.  I know I will cave one of these days, but right now, I’m treasure hunting around town, waiting to score some delightful 1950s dress patterns. I also found a 1959 skirt pattern today, but it was not in my size.

Behold Simplicity pattern 6965 from 1975, whose already cut pattern is in my size:

IMG_1876

I am totally going to make this dress, but probably without the bottom ruffle.

I even like the model’s hairstyle.

If you had asked me a few weeks ago what decades I liked most vintage fashion-wise, I would not have included the 1970s.  After finding this pattern though, I can no longer exclude the decade.  I am quite smitten with 6965.  I don’t know if you can see it in the photo, but the bodice has a cute triangle detail that’s really…um… cute.  While flipping through the pattern pile, I nearly passed this one over because it wasn’t from the 1950s or 1960s (or earlier) but then I paused and really looked at it.  Without the frilly bits, I realized I really liked the pattern, and now the frills are growing on me too.  Who knew?

Leave a Reply

